VFS Grads Win Big at the Leo Awards

By VFS Web Team, on May 28, 2012

Congratulations to Makeup Design for Film & Television grads Sarah Elizabeth, Krysten Merrick, and Susan Manning, who were recognized with a Leo Award for Best Make-Up in a Short Drama for their work on the short film The Little Mermaid. The Leo Awards, which celebrates excellence in artistic achievement in the British Columbia film and television industry, were held this past weekend in Vancouver.
The Little Mermaid, one of the short films produced as part of Vancouver Film School's Entertainment Business Management's Compendium series, was also nominated in three other categories, Best Short Drama, Best Film Production Design in a Short Drama and Best Direction in a Short Drama. EBM grads Samantha Jewell, Lindsey Mann, Aliya Tarmo, and Justin Simon, Film Production grad Sean Young and The Little Mermaid director and VFS instructor Nicholas Humphries all received nominations for their work on the film.
The Little Mermaid was also recently honoured with the Golden Sheaf Award for Best Student Production at the Yorkton Film Festival in Saskatchewan. It was up against films created by students from across the country.
Take a look at The Little Mermaid teaser:

Other VFS grads recognized over the weekend with their own Leo Award include:
Benjamin Arthur - Acting for Film & Television
Best Performance in a Music, Comedy, or Variety Program or Series - Less Than Kind 
Jon Busby, Jesse Davidge - Classical Animation and Digital Character Animation
Best Music Video - "Rows Of Houses" by Dan Mangan
Ron E. Scott (with two others) - Film Production
Best Dramatic Series - Blackstone
Marv Newland - Classical Animation instructor
Best Direction in an Animation Program or Series - CMYK
Josh Stevenson - Sound Design for Visual Media
Best Sound Editing in a Feature Length Drama - Donovan's Echo
Raphael Cho i - Sound Design for Visual Media
Best Sound Editing in a Documentary Program or Series - 40 Days at Base Camp
Here's a complete list of all the winners. A big congratulations to all of the winners and nominees!