VFS Alumni Win Big at Leo Awards

By VFS Web Team, on June 12, 2017

For the past 18 years, the Leo Awards have celebrated the best and brightest in British Columbia’s film and television industry. Awards are handed out over a three-day event, honouring excellence in a wide range of categories, from animation to live action, and adult drama to documentaries and children’s films.

And with Vancouver’s booming industry, there are plenty of productions to celebrate. With our lower Canadian dollar, plus the plethora of big name studios and amazing talents in the city, Vancouver is a mecca for both local and American productions. You can always find a film crew setting up somewhere around town, and that’s especially true for historic Gastown, one of Vancouver’s oldest neighbourhoods, and where you’ll find Vancouver Film School’s campuses. Shows like The Flash, Arrow and iZombie regularly shoot around our buildings, in the neighbouring alleys and parks. As a result of all these film crews working in and around the city, our students graduate with lots of opportunities to dive into a successful and rewarding career on set.

As you would expect, many Vancouver Film School alumni were among those on the winner’s list at the Leos, proving once again, that our grads are some of the most accomplished and talented artists in the industry. In total, 14 VFS alumni were honoured at the Leo Awards, hailing from our Sound, Animation, Acting, Design, Film and Makeup programs.

Below, you’ll find a list of the former VFS students who earned awards this year. We congratulate them for their achievements, and look forward to what they will accomplish next!

Best Sound in a Motion Picture

The Philosophy of Phil - May Guimaraes

Best Lead Performance by a Male in a Motion Picture

Hello Destroyer - Jared Abrahamson

Best Sound in a TV Movie

Cold Zone - Brayden McCluskey, Aaron Tchir

Best Visual Effects in a Short Drama

Sidekick - Jeremy Stewart, Michael Stewart

Best Make-Up in a Short Drama

Sidekick - Jenn Kaminski

Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary

Chasing Evel: The Robbie Knievel Story - Ken Johns

Best Cinematography in a Short Documentary Program

Srorrim - Shayne Zwickel

Best Animation Program/Series

Beat Bugs - Jennifer Twiner-McCarron

Best Youth or Children's Program/Seris

Scout & the Gumboot Kids - David Roncin

Best Web Series

Telegraph Cove – Darren Borrowman

Best Performance by a Female in a Web Series

Telegraph Cove – December - Savonna Spracklin

Best Music Video

Just In Time by Jessie Farrell – David Roncin